Yes, you can do that, but since it involves a global configuration change for your cluster, you would need to perform some of these steps during a maintenance window, or otherwise restrict access to your Xcalar cluster in order to meet your organization's compliance requirements:
In general, make sure that the disable dataset sharing setting is enabled. Disable dataset sharing is an admin-only setting at the bottom of your Monitor: Settings page:
Access your Monitor: Settings page by clicking Monitor and then clicking settings .
When enabled, all users, including Admins will see that the option to share datasets is disabled:
- Add the datasets before the window starts.
- During the maintenance window, take the necessary compliance steps to prevent user logins.
- Turn off the Disable dataset sharing setting. Unlike in the above image, clicking on the dataset will show Share as enabled.
- Click on the datasets in question and select Share.
- Re-enable the Disable dataset sharing setting.
While the setting is disabled and the checkbox is unchecked, the Admin can share your centralized datasets. No cluster restarts are required.
Did this answer your question?