Xcalar Design locks a dataset when the first modeling table is created from it. In this case, your coworker must not have created a table from this dataset, and deleted it before you created a table from the data. In such a situation, the data would disappear from your dataset preview.
The dataset would be in the Datasets panel if your coworker both deleted the dataset and re-added it while you were at lunch.
Any additional questions?